HOME >News

BBVA Awards

Monday 15 February 2016, by SIGNIS

Madrid, Brussels, February 15th, 2016 (BBVA/SIGNIS). The BBVA Foundation, in collaboration with the Spanish National Research Council (CSIC) has announced the ninth edition of the BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards.

The BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards seek to recognize and encourage world-class research and artistic creation, prizing contributions of broad impact for their originality and theoretical significance. The name of the scheme is intended to encapsulate both research work that successfully enlarges the scope of our current knowledge – pushing forward the frontiers of the known world – and the meeting and overlap of different disciplinary areas.

There are 8 categories, but one is of particular interest for SIGNIS Members: Information and Communication Technologies.

Candidates shall be one or more natural persons of any nationality, without limitation of number in the case of convergent contributions to a given advance, whether due to a formal collaboration (with the candidate(s) belonging to one or more groups) or parallel working.

Nominations shall be in all cases indirect. They will be accepted from the following organizations and institutions working in the knowledge areas covered in each category.

The nominations process opened on January 1, 2016 and will conclude at 23.00 hours GMT on June 30 of the same year.

All nominations should be submitted through the website of the BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards: www.fbbva.es/awards.

Both nominations and the accompanying documentation must be submitted in English only.

The BBVA Foundation together with the CSIC will appoint a technical evaluation committee for each category of the BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards. This committee will evaluate candidates against the best available standards in each field, drawing up a reasoned short list of finalists for submission to the prize jury, accompanied by a full list of entries in the corresponding category and the score assigned to each. The jury may decide by simple majority to include as finalists one or more entries that were not among those shortlisted by the technical evaluation committee.

The BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards will be decided before February 28, 2017 and the awards will be presented at a formal ceremony, to be held in Madrid during the month of June, 2017.

For more info, please visit this website.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
SIGNIS in the world
Choose your organization in the world.