HOME >Our action >Digital World

New languages added onto Google Translate

Thursday 18 February 2016, by SIGNIS

Brussels, February 18th, 2016 (AfricaNews/SIGNIS). In its latest update, Google translate added 13 more languages, bringing the total number of tongues it supports to 103.

Now, Google Translate will be available in Corsican, Frisian, Kyrgyz, Hawaiian, Kurdish (Kurmanji), Luxembourgish, Samoan, Scots Gaelic, Sindhi and Pashto. Three African languages have also been added – Amharic, the official working language of Ethiopia, Xhosa, the second most common native language in South Africa after Afrikaans, and Shona (Zimbabwe)

The addition brings to 13 the total number of African languages supported on Google Translate; Swahili, Hausa, Yoruba, Zulu, Igbo, Malagasy, Afrikaans, Chichewa, Sesotho, Somali, Xhosa, Shona and Amharic.

According to The Verge , some of the languages have a wider appeal than others — only 57,000 people are estimated to speak Gaelic in Scotland, compared to the 45 million or more in the Pashto-speaking diaspora worldwide — but altogether Google says the new additions make Translate useful to an extra 120 million people, from Asia to Africa, Europe, and Hawaii.

The update will be arriving on the machine translation tool over the coming days, and Google is calling on speakers of the newly added languages to contribute their own interpretations.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
SIGNIS in the world
Choose your organization in the world.