HOME >Our action >Journalism

Scholarships for Journalists

Tuesday 23 February 2016, by SIGNIS

Brussels, February 23rd, 2016 (SIGNIS/The DW Akademie/Dag Hammarskjold Funds). The DW Akademie has 10 full scholarships for journalists and the Dag Hammarskjöld Fund for Journalists is now accepting applications from professional journalists from developing countries for its 2016 fellowship program.

For the DW Akademie, young journalists, media managers and other communication professionals can apply for its International Media Studies program (IMS) in Bonn, Germany. Students who successfully complete the four-semester program will be awarded a Master of Arts degree.

The program offers a mix of research, lectures and practical experience and combines media and development, journalism, communications and media management.
Ten full scholarships are offered to applicants from Africa, Asia, Latin America or Eastern Europe. Applicants must have a bachelor’s degree and at least a year of professional experience in a media-related field. Applicants must also have a good command of German and English. The deadline is March 31. For more information, click here.

The Dag Hammarskjöld Fund for Journalists will accept applications until March 18, 2016.

The fellowships are available to radio, television, print and web journalists, age 25 to 35, from developing countries who are interested in coming to New York to report on international affairs during the 71st session of the United Nations General Assembly. The fellowships will begin in early September and extend to late November and will include the cost of travel and accommodations in New York, as well as a per diem allowance.

The fellowship program is open to journalists who are native to one of the developing countries in Africa, Asia (including Pacific Island countries), Latin America and the Caribbean, and are currently working full-time for a bona fide media organization in a developing nation. Applicants must demonstrate an interest in and commitment to international affairs and to conveying a better understanding of the United Nations to their readers and audiences. They must also have approval from their media organizations to spend up to two months in New York to report from the United Nations.

In an effort to rotate recipient countries, the Fund will not consider journalist applications for 2016 from nations selected in 2015: Brazil, Ghana, India and Kenya. Journalists from these countries may apply in 2017.

Click here to review fellowship eligibility criteria and documentation requirements as well as the fellowship application form. Please note that we cannot accept email applications.

To read more about the Fund’s 2015 fellowship recipients, click here.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
SIGNIS in the world
Choose your organization in the world.