New York City, June, 2nd, 2016 (IWMF). The International Women’s Media Foundation (IWMF) is recognizing four outstanding woman journalists as winners of its annual Courage in Journalism Awards.

The four women are Mabel Cáceres, founder and editor-in-chief of El Búho, an independent magazine in Peru; Janine di Giovanni, Middle East Editor at Newsweek and contributing editor at Vanity Fair; Stella Paul, a freelance journalist in India and Diane Rehm, long-time host of the public radio show that bears her name.

“These courageous journalists have faced seemingly insurmountable security threats and personal challenges in reporting on global issues and often, their impact on women,” IWMF Executive Director Elisa Lees Muñoz said. “It is an honor to celebrate their commitment to press freedom and their service to other women in their industry with our annual Courage Awards.”

Since its inception in 1990, IWMF has honored more than 100 women journalists from 54 countries as part of its Courage in Journalism Awards program. For the third year, the IWMF also will recognize two Leadership Honorees for their outstanding commitment to free speech and innovative leadership: Saad Mohseni, Chairman & Chief Executive Officer of MOBY Group in Los Angeles and Sally Susman, Executive Vice President of Corporate Affairs for Pfizer, in New York.

For more information on the IWMF Courage in Journalism Awards and a complete list of past winners, visit