Cannes, May 21, 2011 (SIGNIS/Interfilm) - At the 64th Cannes Film Festival, The 2011 Ecumenical Jury awarded its Prize to This Must Be the Place by Paolo Sorrentino (France, Italia, Ireland).

"Through the story of Cheyenne, a fallen and aching rock star, Paolo Sorrentino proposes to follow the inner voyage and odyssey of a man searching for his Jewish roots, maturity, reconciliation and hope. A classic drama of great richness and elaborate aesthetics, the film gracefully opens deep and serious paths of reflection."

The Ecumenical Jury also gave two Commendations, the first one to Le Havre by Aki Kaurismäki (Finland, France).

"An ode to hope, solidarity and brotherhood: using sophisticated filmmaking, Aki Kaurismaki invites us in a world which he transforms through the magic of the colours, the humour of the dialogues, the humanity of the characters - with "The Sermon on the Mount" in the background."

The second Commendation was given to Et maintenant on va où? (Where Do We Go Now?) by Nadine Labaki (Lebanon, France).

"The women of a small isolated village are ready to do anything to preserve peace between the two communities that are living there together. With much delicacy, Nadine Labaki succeeds in offering a poetic tale balancing carefully between comedy and tragedy, provoking an emotion that is turned towards hope."

The 2011 Cannes Jury was composed of Daniel Grivel (Switzerland, President), Christiane Hofmann (France), Mikaël Mogren (Sweden), Martín E. Bernal Alonso (Argentina), Françoise Lods (France) and Gianluca Arnone (Italia).

All the information on the Cannes 2011 Ecumenical Jury at .